PROJECT: FINISHING

Embarking on the final section within the DPP module, we will be both looking back at past processes within our digital workflow, and looking forward to new methodology, covering a couple of areas I have yet to consider within my workflow.

Back-ups

During DPP I have come to appreciate Photoshop CS5 and all of the functions this programme has to offer a photographer.  One of the biggest revelations I have found is Adobe Bridge and its ability to import my photographs into a comprehensive database, storing all of my images together in one place.   From here I can make selections of the images I want to work on, assigning each different labels according to the processes I intend to conduct.

During the import process, within Bridge’s Photo Downloader function, there is an option to ‘Save Copies To:’ and this is where I make the choice of where my back-up copies are stored.  Back at the very beginning of DPP we looked in detail at our workflow, and mine has changed considerably over the past 9-months (more of that later), and after reading both Freeman and Steinmueller & Gulbins, I set about making changes to the way I do things.  Both authors suggested that back-ups needed to be made, and before reading these books, all I did was copy my JPEG files, through iPhoto, onto my computer’s hard drive; now, with the help of Adobe Bridge, things are completely different, and I have devised a succinct way of keeping track of all my images.

Even though RAW is now my preferred shooting media, I still shoot in and keep copies of JPEG images.  I import my photos directly onto my computer’s hard drive; I have separate folders for each type of media, giving each group of photos a name combing a numeric and literal reference.  Doing this allows me to find each batch of images easily without little fuss or confusion.  Using the same layout and referencing system, I also copy the images onto an external hard drive, permanently attached to my computer.   Very recently I have also started copying worked images into a separate folder, within the original RAW folder, so that everything I have done is kept together in one place, although I have yet to include the migration of this information over to the external hard drive.

This pre-post-processing workflow is a very basic way of my keeping abreast of my work, and I also have the opportunity of adding detailed metadata, keywords and tags to my images, but this is something to concentrate on at another time, when study is not at the forefront of my mind.

Adding to this back up, I also keep all of my used SD cards, the cards that hold my JPEG images.  Not really sure why I do this, but I am sure that there will come a time when I can let these go.  It is my intention to add an additional back up to this process, as at the end of the year I will copy all of the photos off of my computer onto a new/separate external hard disk, so that I can start the year with more space and a fresh set of eyes.

Prints

During TAOP I used my printer quiet extensively for the assignments as my tutor requested that I send printed copies of all my images to him for consideration.  However, during DPP I have been submitting electronic copies of my work, so my print knowledge has slipped a little.

Again, during the work I conducted for the Workflow module, there was mention of monitor calibration, stating that it was the best way to ensure optimal colours within your digital workflow; it was therefore advised that everything be calibrated accordingly.

As I was buying a new computer, I also purchased a Colour Munki, as I wanted to make sure that the work I was conducting was being displayed at the best resolution possible and that what I saw on the screen was a truer representation of the world around me.  Upon using the devise, I also conducted a recalibration of my laptop so that everything was in sync.  I admit that I could not really see much difference in the before and after, but at least I know that the task has been performed and that my digital equipment is primed the best it can be.

As we are nearing the end of this module and The Final Image Assignment is just around the corner, I will need to get back up to speed with my printing processes so that I can submit my work accordingly.

Sharpening

Sharpening is a two-way process whereby it can correct the loss of sharpness due to extensive image processing; it can also be used to optimise the appearance of an image for the medium where it will be displayed i.e. print or digital.

Our first exercise will surround sharpening an image for print, allowing us to appreciate the differences between viewing the sharpness of images on a computer screen vs. viewing the sharpness of images on paper.

Source:

Bibliography:

Bauer, P.  (2010) Photoshop® CS5 For Dummies®.  Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Publishing Inc.

Freeman, M.  (2011) The Digital SLR Handbook.  Revised 3rd Edition.  East Sussex: The Ilex Press Limited

Kabili, J.  (n.d.) What is Adobe Bridge CS5? [online article].  Available at: http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-adobe-bridge-cs5/what-is-adobe-bridge-cs5-/ [Accessed 30 November 2013].

Obermeier, B.  (2010) Photoshop® CS5 All-in-One For Dummies®.  Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Publishing Inc.

Snider, L.  (2010) Bridge CS5 [online article].  Available at: http://www.macworld.com/article/1150944/bridgecs5profile.html [Accessed 30 October 2013].

Steinmueller, U., Gulbins, J.  (2010) The Digital Photography Workflow Handbook – From Import to Output.  Heidelberg: Steinmueller Photo.

This entry was posted in The Final Image ~ Learning Log and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PROJECT: FINISHING

  1. Matt says:

    You’ve made me realise how I can use Adobe Bridge further. Good luck with the final part of DPP!

Leave a Reply

