Wandering Lens

As I wrote in my last post, my recent trip to Norway was a great success, especially as I was able to play around with my photography and try some things I had not been able to do in the past.

During this playtime, I came across an issue that I had not experienced before, but my trusty assistant (my husband, who really goes through the mill when I am out with my camera) had read an article about others experiencing the same issue, so an easy fix was at hand.  Let me explain….

When combining the use of filters with long exposures during the day, some of my images

Milky Images

Milky Images

were coming out very milky, as if a piece of paper or muslin cloth had been put in front of the lens during the exposure.

I really could not understand this, as my settings were the same and nothing had changed at my location.  Feeling miffed, I tried changing things, I cleaned my equipment, altered my position and even changed my camera settings, but to no avail, that milky look was still present in my shots.

Over a coffee, whilst discussing my plight, my assistant had a light bulb moment and commented that he had read somewhere about the Nikkor 28-300 (my lens) creeping whilst extended.  The article confirmed that once the lens had been well used and worn in a little, there have been reported instances that this lens may creep a little in either direction when extended.  Since my lens has taken around 8,000 photos, I am assuming it comes under the heading of ‘worn in’, so now I needed to find a solution and quick.  “Not to worry” my assistant cried, “all we need is a good rubber band, that should do the trick”, and thinking no more of it, I took off one of the bands I usually wear on my wrist, which has now become part of my kit.  I have placed the band so that it covers both the zoom

Lens Creep - Quick Solution

Lens Creep – Quick Solution

ring and lens barrel, the point were we govern focal length. Due to the width of the band, the focal distance indicator can not be seen, but that is okay, as I do not really look at this information, and if I do need the details of focal length, I can get them from the metadata uploaded with my photos.

We came to the conclusion that this was the issue as in the photo above, I had my camera set to point at a slight up angle, at a focal length of 50 mm, a prime length for the creep to set in, which can be seen on this YouTube video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUXg6eW8oqU. I am happy to report that I have not had any issues since..

NB; I am not sure of the original article, but upon further inspection I have come across a few web pages that discuss this issue and advise on how it can be fixed (details of which you can find below).

Source:

Reference:

Marcfogel.  (n.d.) Nikon 18-200 VR II Lens Creep [Online Video].  Available at:  <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUXg6eW8oqU&gt; [Accessed 2 September 2013].

Bibliography:

IMATRYIN@ et al.  (2010) How to fix Zoom Creep [Online Article].  Available at: < http://lensband.com/diy/&gt; [Accessed 2 September 2013].

Klaus.  (2011) Fixing Lens Creep on Nikon 24-120mm f4 and 18-200mm VR lenses [Online Article].  Available at: <http://techpatio.com/2011/photography/photo-tips-tricks/how-to-lens-creep-fix-nikkor-canon-zoom-lenses&gt; [Accessed 2 September 2013].

This entry was posted in Other Writings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

