Workflow – a continuing process

During the first part of the DPP module we looked at our workflow.  This was quiet an in-depth study at the time, but in the feedback I received from my tutor after assignment one, I was advised to look into this further.

Having already looked at the writings of Freeman (2011), Langford et al (2008) and Steinmueller and Gulbins (2010), I came across a book called The Photographer’s Workflow by a photographer called Gavin Gough, a freelance travel photographer, based in Thailand; I decided to purchase this book, as I thought it would give me an alternate, more recent perspective on a photographers workflow, this book was published in 2012.

I have only read the first 20 pages, but already I have learnt a few things, and in conjunction with an online Photoshop tutorial, I have already started making new tweaks to my post-processing workflow.

It is no secrete that it has taken me a long time to open and start using Photoshop, but I have been kicking myself repeatedly over this, as I am becoming a big fan of Adobe Bridge and especially the assistance it gives when importing photos from my camera.

GOUGH starts the book by sharing his own version of a post-processing workflow.  This is called ‘The Ten Steps of Data Management’, (which make up the chapters of his book), and at first glance seems more basic than the writings of the authors mentioned above, but as I am only at the second chapter, I hope to see more detail surrounding this introduced as I continue to move on.  GOUGH is very passionate about keeping his image files safe and his advice is to back everything up to at least three different devices/places, but as I do not work at a professional level, and since reading these chapters, I have started making one set additional back-ups of my work, and this is where Adobe Bridge really helps with this.

When importing images, a dialogue box opens asking specific questions about what you want to do with them, such as; where would you like your images stored, how would you like to store them, and whether you would like to rename the files.

Adobe Bridge Photo Downloader

Adobe Bridge Photo Downloader

Near the bottom of this dialogue, there is an option “save copies to:” which when selected allows you to create a copy of your pictures in a separate location; I have this selected to save an identical copy of my images to an external hard drive attached to my computer.

This one steps saves me quiet a lot of time and takes the separate step ‘back up images’ from my post-processing workflow, it also means that backing up my images is something I do not have to remember to do at the end of every day / week / month …

On GOUGH’s advice, I have also decided to change the way I file my images and instead of having separate folders for client work, personal images and OCA photos as I did before, I am currently working on a consistent way of importing my images using a sequential system of Year/Month/Date then the title of the work, for example, the photos I took whilst in London over Easter have been filed as; [20130330 London Photography].  At the moment, I am finding this a simpler way to find my photos from file; so that is another time saving step I have been able to change.  One thing I am currently pondering though is whether to change the actual name of my images when I import them, as to date I have not done this, although both GOUGH, and a Photoshop tutorial video I have recently watched has shown me how simple this can be done once the images have been imported – so I have the opportunity to do this at a later date, although my backup copies will then show different file details … so frustrating that I am find all of this out now …

So, my post-processing workflow is really beginning to change as not only have I changed the way I import my photos, but I have also started working with the RAW images over JPEG, which are now being saved for use in social media etc.  This change really comes down to the work I am doing with the OCA, as I have had to use Photoshop in some of the exercises, so I have decided to continue this on in all areas of my workflow, I mean, what better way to learn how to use the programme …

At this time, my workflow currently looks like this:

New Workflow as of 29.04.13

New Workflow as of 29.04.13

I am sure that this will continue to change over time, and as it does, I will continue to document things here.

NB, If you happen to look at the link to the Adobe Photoshop video I looked when doing my research, please note that I only used the information contained in the beginning of the video regarding file naming and do not agree with the subjects that were covered during the latter part of this seminar.  We will be looking into this subject further during Part Four where we look at Reality and Intervention in photography.

Source:

Reference:

Gough, G.  (2012) The Photographer’s Workflow [eBook].  Available to download from: http://www.gavingough.com

Adobe Photoshop for Video Workflows: New Features and Timesaving Tips, 2013. [Online Video] presented by Richard Harrington.  USA: Adobe Systems Incorporated.  Available at: <http://tv.adobe.com/watch/adobe-at-nab-2013/adobe-photoshop-for-video-workflows-new-features-and-timesaving-tips&gt; [Accessed 29 April 2013].

This entry was posted in Other Writings, Workflow ~ Learning Log and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

