INSPIRATION

I think I have mentioned this before, but I am a member of lots of website mailing lists and Facebook pages that surround photography, in fact sometimes I think I receive too much information from these sources, as I never really know what to look at, what is relevant to me or even appropriate at my current level of learning, so most of the content I receive goes unlooked at, then missed and finally forgotten!  Perhaps I need to take the time and cull this daily bombardment, but then I am not 100% sure what should stay and what should go as I do not want to miss anything that could be appropriate, and so the daily/weekly cycle continues …

One thing I do enjoy receiving and looking at are the images of others, and I often look at photographs and wonder how the scene was captured and what I would need to do to create a similar (but of course individual) image.  This was the case when I happened across the following image at the online photography magazine ‘Photography Week’.

Monk's Hand

Monk’s Hand

Arroyo, D.  (n.d.) Monk’s Hand [Online Image].  Available at: <http://photographyweek.tumblr.com/image/46059953351&gt; [Accessed 23 March 2013].

There are so many things I like about this shot, the mood of the image, created by both the colours and depth of field, makes you wonder whether it is early morning and whether the monks are meditating, or just chilling out, taking in the views from their perches.  The omission of any faces gives the image an additional air of mystery and intrigue, making you want to know more about their location, what the monk’s look like and what made them choose the path they are taking in life.  Or perhaps I just like this shot as I currently have a ‘thing’ for temples and everything that is connected to them, and this shot just leaves me breathless, wanting to know more.

The author has a great website of images, which can be found at: www.arroyodiego.com this is a great source of both inspiration and ideas of photos I would like to be able to take one day.

Reference:

Arroyo, D.  (n.d.) Monk’s Hand [Online Image].  Available at: <http://photographyweek.tumblr.com/image/46059953351&gt; [Accessed 23 March 2013].

http://www.arroyodiego.com

This entry was posted in Other Writings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

